• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Gaining British Citizenship

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yes, the Royal Marines "are not" elite.  Because of their status as just ordinary soldiers, they were at the tip of the coalition thrust into Iraq, and they were kicking down doors in the Iraqi Port of Umm Qasr, and doing weapons cache raids and fighting head to head with insurgents to clear the Port for Coalition use and occupation.  Because of their ordinary status, 99.9% need not apply, because they aren't elite.  They are just normal soldiers. 

I may be in the same boat with you as I have no military experience, but I sure don't argue with those who do have the experience, and do know what they're talking about. Especially those who've worked with such units.  Read history, understand how the Royal Marines were utilized, and why they are a very professional, well trained establishment.  They've been around since the 1755 when they were raised for full service.  Are ~250 years of service not long enough to master their craft?

As for your comment on the CAR, i'll leave it to those who've been there to discuss that with you.  I'm behind them 100%.

my father served with the SSF, and he will be quick to correct you that, yes the CAR WERE an elite unit, as he trained with them extensively. Marines arent ordinary soldiers, do Reg training, than go over and try your hand at RM training, and see how long you can last. the RM , and USMC are considered the "tip of the spear", and not everyone has the gusto to undertake such a demanding role. Marines undertake it, and excel at it. This CAR/SSF/RM/ not being elite is total nonesense, and until you do some more research on the subject, make sure to point out that your opinions are, in fact opinion and not fact.