• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

My situation (RMC)

Yasha

Inactive
Reaction score
I am in my second year at a civi- university.My grades in highschool were incredible. However first uni school year I did very poorly, and this year I did quite poorly. I became very tired of this school as I was doing something that I did not enjoy.

I joined the reserves awhile back and right away instantly I wanted to do this for the rest of my life. Therefore I applied for RMC B.A. Military and strategic studies. I completed the application and revealed my dedication and will on it. Believe me I did. I got a call from the recruiting centre today for RMC offering me a 13 year contract for army.
I am confused about two things. Why 13 year contract? Not that I care, but 13 year kind of tripped me out. I am happy however.

As well, with my poor university grades I was surprised I got an offer. Why?

From what I understand if I accept the offer, I must start my uni career over again, is this correct?

thanks for the info and advice.

First of all, congratulations on getting an offer!

I believe (and will be corrected if I am wrong) that initial contracts are 13 years, but your obligatory service depends on how many years of your education is subsidized. So if you have a four year program, you must stay in the CF for an additional four years (I think it is 2 months service for every month of school subsidized). You may sign up for the 13 years, but be eligible for release after completing your period of obligatory service.

I would call or visit your CFRC tomorrow and get things straightened out, they are the best people to talk to.

If this is correct, I understand. I am happy with that.
However with regards to my grades in university(?) any comments

I am very thankful as I view this as a chance to start again. A clean slate.