• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

AWST / AVS - General Questions

Andy2014

Inactive
Reaction score
Questions / Important are in bold!

AWST: http://www.forces.ca/en/job/airweaponssystemstechnician-166#info-1#training-2#video-0#training-2#video-0#training-2#video-0

I'm re-enlisting after 3 years out,  I was an LCIS, and completed POET.

I did NOT enjoy the electronics, it was very difficult, and I barely scraped by. I failed 3 or 4 exams, and completely guessed my way through the re-writes. I did not feel comfortable graduating. How much actual electronics work, soldering, reading schematics is there as an AVS?

In my civilian life, I'm a computer programmer. I sit at my desk all day, no window, no real sense of purpose (my last project was a dish washer ecommerce store... blah).

I really want to work and put my hands on aircraft, specifically helicopters. They fascinate me. I was at Border for a brief stay on CFSCE, the runway was right behind us. I could hear the aircraft taking off, helicopters landing. I was extremely jealous of my friends who had gone Airforce, AVS, AWS, AVN... I constantly regretted LCIS, my instructors would always talk about aircraft and how cool it was.

Where can an AWST get posted? Any where an AVS could get posted I would guess? Kingston, Trenton, Greenwood NS, the typical air bases?

Andy2014 said:
Questions / Important are in bold!

AWST: http://www.forces.ca/en/job/airweaponssystemstechnician-166#info-1#training-2#video-0#training-2#video-0#training-2#video-0

I'm re-enlisting after 3 years out,  I was an LCIS, and completed POET.

I did NOT enjoy the electronics, it was very difficult, and I barely scraped by. I failed 3 or 4 exams, and completely guessed my way through the re-writes. I did not feel comfortable graduating. How much actual electronics work, soldering, reading schematics is there as an AVS?