• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

(Recruitment in Ottawa) Pre security check and ECA for Educational credentials from outside Canada

Reaction score
Hi All,
Here is my background. I came to Canada as an international student in 2018 to do my masters degree. I completed my bachelor's degree in engineering and high school/secondary school from Bangladesh. I became a PR (Permanent Resident of Canada) this year and I gave CFAT exam few weeks ago. The recruiter told me that I did well in the CFAT based on the job I chose (i.e. marine system engineer/signal engineer) but to process further, they need my bachelor's degree and high school diploma to get evaluated by WES (World Education Service). Also, they told me that they will run a pre security check as I have been living in Canada for less than 10 years which will take them to 1.-2 years to complete!! Just the pre security check!! Even though I have Valid Reliability Security Clearance from the Govt of Canada. Seems like they cannot even trust reliable security clearance provided by their own government.

Before enrolling to a Canadian university to do my Masters degree, they evaluated all my previous educational qualifications/credentials and after passing their requirement, I got admission to a Canadian high ranked university. It is a common sense that wiithout completing high school/bachelor degree in engineering, I will not be able to get admission to a Canadian University for Masters program.