• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Join US Army as foreigner?

D

Delos

Greetings everybody!

I wonder if anyone could help me a bit. Theres a little idea in my mind
about joining US army but it's kinda complicated i do not know the procedures.

I'm from Estonia and i have been serving Estonian Defence Forces for 2 years.
In less than a month our company is heading to Afghanistan and after the deployment
maybe i would like to join US army. At the moment it's just an idea, that's why i need your help.
Question is, what do i have to do to make this idea to come true?

This is the Canadian Army Forum. Not US.

But here is a good link: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_militaries_that_recruit_foreigners

"United States Armed Forces - Permanent Residence/Green Card"

Here's some weird facts.

(North) Korean People's Army allows naturalized foreign citizens to enlist (mainly Japanese), however there are only a few known cases of this happening. Americans are banned from enlisting.

Australian Defence Force - The Australian Defence Force may consider a temporary waiver of the citizenship requirements for a Permanent Resident of Australia, if the position cannot be filled by an applicant who meets all the citizenship requirements, and then only in exceptional circumstances. Also, non-citizen and non-permanent residents with prior military experience are eligible to be sponsored by the ADF depending on the vacancies available on the ADF recruitment centre website.

I believe the Philippines recruits foreigners from the US, and possibly Canada. From my understanding/experience as a traveler, the Phillipines Army speaks English, and is largely created from the US Military.

Thanks a lot. Got my answer just like i wanted.

Green card or permanent residence....basically can say it's pointless to even try.