• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

CF advertising at school

Aislinn

Inactive
Reaction score
I'm a volunteer on the student union board at my college. I'm also in the process of recruiting in the Canadian army. Because of this, I had some rather interesting issues at my last student union meeting. We have advertising in washrooms on campus (always a controversial issue, for some reason), but the latest is to make this advertising slightly more palatable to the student body. They way the union wants to go about this is by banning some types of advertsing: homophopic, overtly sexist, and anything to do with the Canadian Forces. Can you see how these all go together? Anyways, I asked for good solid reasons why we shouldn't have CF advertising. It sounds like too many of my fellow students took Michael Moore's Fahrenheit 911 too seriously. The most popular reasoning I got was that advertising by the CF is wrong because in order to get help on paying for schooling, you must be willing to kill someone and that is immoral. Later on in the meeting, someone mentioned that we had to get tough on the administration and may have to go commando. And then she apologized for using a military term! Sometimes I wonder what I'm actually accomplishing on the board. Any thoughts on all this?

Cheers.

Enami, I'm afraid this seems to be common place amoung our enlightened post-secondary students these days. Its a real shame that an anti-military sentiment has become seemingly engrained into our post-secondary institutions. I guess all you can really do is grin it and bear it. Hard to do, I know, but you can't change the ignorant.

And then she apologized for using a military term! Sometimes I wonder what I'm actually accomplishing on the board. Any thoughts on all this?

Ask her out on a date. Women say they hate something, but you know what they really want.....