• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Basic Tour

skura

Inactive
Reaction score
I've been asked a question by a friend in the states that I can't answer because I'm not in the army, and frankly I'd like to know the answer as well...

He asked;

"A Basic Tour in the U.S. is 4 years, what is it in Canada?"

For the US Army(Active Army) you can either enlist for 2 or 4 years, you got two options.

For the Regular Force, its 3 years.

Okay...now here's one of my stupid questions because I'm still learning about the army...

When you say "For the Regular Force it's 3 years"...does that mean in Canada the Basic Tour is 3 years?

(probably a stupid question for the rest of you, but like I said, I know little)

This is just for the normal enlistment, I think for some other trades you may have to sign up for longer.

If you join the regular force(full time), you sign a 3 year contract.

Right now all basic recruits to the Regular Force sign up for a three year Basic Engagment (BE).  It's soon to change in the future depending trade due to losing expensively trained personnel after only three years.  It makes sense considering some trades have long trades qualifiying course and in some trades the real learning don't begin till you get posted to a unit.

After the 3 year contract, can you sign up for 1 year more or do you have to sign up for another 3 years if you want to continue your career in the military??

Usually you sign up for a Second BE (2BE) and that again is three more years to bring you to six.

One year extensions are called Continuing Engagements (CE) or Fixed Period of Service (FPS) depending where you are in your career.  They are given out in rare cirsumstances where you are needed for a short time frame(IE: a overseas tour).  Don't hold your breath in getting one though as they seem to be given out quite infrequently of late.