• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Test pilot

yolotuber

Reaction score
Hi all,

I can't find any information on how to get a test pilot slot in RCAF once trained as a pilot. The only thing I know is that I need to study in the STEM field and have my wings and being a good pilot. Would anyone on this forum give me more in-depth requirement or career path example?

Thank you ! 

Hi.  I am currently a Test Pilot at AETE.  I have a Mech Eng degree from RMC and flew/fly the Hornet operationally.  After my Hornet course, I did 6 years operationally before going to Test Pilot School.  You need 1,000 hrs total time, flight lead or AC category and preferably a STEM degree.  After you apply, you’ll be administered a math exam.  Pass mark is 70%.  The intent is to make sure the the candidates have the drive to get back in the books and teach themselves again.  After the math exam, a board decides which candidates to invite to an in-person evaluation.  The in-person evaluation consists of flight test academics, four flights (most likely in aircraft you haven’t flown - to test your adaptability), technical report writing and oral presentation on test results.  If you are successful you will then be placed in a pool of successful candidates waiting for a course.  To be placed on a course, we need money (~$2M for one candidate), a slot at one of the recognized schools (5 in the world for us) and the proper candidate with the proper background for our requirements. That is a lot of stars to align but it should not discourage you to strive for it.  I went through the US Naval Test Pilot School and it was the best and most rewarding year of my life.  I flew 25 types in a year (helicopters, fighters (F/A-18E/F, F-16 Block 40, F-15E, Mirage 2000D, Mirage 2000N), transport, sailplanes, formally qualified on 3 types.  It was an incredible amount of work (lots of academics, lots of t