• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Survival FTX for Army Cadets

JRouslton

Inactive
Reaction score
Good day to you all,

I am a volunteer instructor with my local army cadet corps. I am planning a senior cadet weekend for the beginning of this upcoming cadet year. I spoke to the cadets asking them what they wanted to do, and it was unanimous that they wanted to do a survival weekend.

From speaking with some of their friends from camp, they mentioned that there is a program where the cadets do a survival FTX, where they have to find food, water, etc. and trade what they find in for parts of an MRE… apparently how much of the MRE you get is dependant on the weight of the food you gather/hunt.

Now, what I am trying, and failing, to find is the exchange rate of forage for MRE. Does anyone here know it, or know where I might be able to find it?

Thank you in advance.

Jonathon

Instead of listening to what your cadets are saying happened, I would consult with your Zone Trg O through the Chain of Command and take direction on how this needs to be structured.  The reason being that we have a duty of care to them and need to make sure they are fed appropriately.  The amount of energy being expended on an exercise like this would have me leaning towards them needing a significant caloric intake.

It absolutely does align with PO 324 objectives if done right.  However, there are also significant safety considerations that need to be made for an exercise of this type.  Direction in these areas has tended to vary by region, so definitely use your local partners.

Thank you for the quick reply. :)

I absolutely am going to be contacting the Zone Trg O. As I understand, they are unavailable for the next while. The person who was the Trg O is moving to Ottawa, and the new one coming in, isn’t here yet… At least that is what I’ve been told.