• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

ROTP/OFFICER Trade Question / Personal Introduction

OCDT.Wannabe

Inactive
Reaction score
Hello everybody,
:warstory:
I am a 16 year old student who attends a high school in the GTA.
Recently I have been interested in joining the Canadian Armed Forces,
and so I have been influenced to follow my interest through the Regular Officer Training Plan,
to protect my country and its interests domestic and abroad.
--
:cdn:
--
And so my question is that if I was to be accepted into RMC in a MOS that is fit to my vision capability (V4), for example (MPO, HCAO, LOG etc.), and I was to have LASIK, could I request a MOS transfer to a combat arm which requires V3 vision?
:dunno:
--
Also I was wondering if the Canadian Armed Forces were providing subsidization for any sort of corrective eye surgery, while you are in RMC.
:prancing:
--

Thanks for taking your time out and reading this!
-HR
:salute:

OCDT.Wannabe said:
And so my question is that if I was to be accepted into RMC in a MOS that is fit to my vision capability (V4), for example (MPO, HCAO, LOG etc.), and I was to have LASIK, could I request a MOS transfer to a combat arm which requires V3 vision?

Possibly.  But be prepared to stay in the trade you get in with.

OCDT.Wannabe said:
Also I was wondering if the Canadian Armed Forces were providing subsidization for any sort of corrective eye surgery, while you are in RMC.

No.  It's on your own dime and I wouldn't advise getting it while at RMC, just because there are some restrictions (for a short time) after the surgery.

Why not get it before joining?

Hey thanks for the quick reply! ;D
--
I was really hoping to join a combat arm, but getting in the Forces will be a dream come true itself!
--
Apparently its inadvisable to get lasik before you are 21. :pullhair: