• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Medical Laboratory Technologists

kllyeve

Inactive
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a civilian Lab Tech thinking about applying.  I was wondering if there are any other lab techs who could give insight into the differences- either pos or neg - about military vs civilian labs?

I have mostly Histology experience even though I am a general tech.  I am interested in Core lab positions, but am just curious if there are any Histology labs as I couldn't find any reference in the forces.ca searches I did.

Thanks
Kelley

Although I'm not a Lab Tech, I can offer some insight. As a military tech, you'll be a generalist. In a bigger lab you might get the chance to specialize, but not as a rule.

Hi all,

As a current medical lab science student, interested in joining the Forces after finishing my degree, I have a few questions concerning the medical laboratory technology trade. I've tried the search bar several times before but had no luck (found only 2 posts with irrelevant topics...) :p

1. Roughly around how many M Lab Techs are currently serving in CF? I've read somewhere that there are only 30 techs employed full-time, but that doen't sound probable... I guess not many techs are interested in working with CF.

2. Where (province/hospital) do most of the techs work? Is there more than one military hospital in the country?