• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Joining the reserve as an officer versus joining as an NCM

Mileender

Inactive
Reaction score
Can someone answer this question for me? I'd like to join the reserve as an officer, but I'm interested in the engineers, and my degree isn't in engineering, so I'd have to join as an NCM. The only place I can join as an officer would be the infantry, which I'm less interested in. What are the pros and cons? Would it be better to join the engineers, which I'm really interested in, as an NCM, or the infantry as an officer? Also, I'm in my 30s - that's something to keep in mind.

Anyone have any thoughts on this?

If you have a degree, you're not restricted to infantry, you can join just about anything. I'll admit I don't know a whole lot about engineers, but I do know some AEREs (Aerospace Engineers) that don't have engineering degrees.

If you're doing it part time, I'd say go with what you'll enjoy. In fact, that'd be my advice even if you were going Reg. If you hate your job, what good is the money?

Cheers

All the engineer officers that i ahve worked for/ met / instructed had degrees in civil engineering, chemical engineering, environmental engineering or mechanical engineering.  I do beleive an engineering degree is a requirement for the Engineer officer MOC (24) and airfield engineer (46)

There's always the option of joining the engineers as an NCM, have them help you get through school (up to $2000/year in the reserves....although I think there was recently a change to the program, you'd have to look it up if you're interested), and then commission from the ranks, because don't forget, you can be OCdt while in school, and you'll get your commission once you finish your degree.

Just remember that comissioning from the ranks is not simply a matter of sticking your hand up and saying " i want to CFR" !!