• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

joining the RCEME

BadEnoughDudeRescueRonny

Inactive
Reaction score
Hi all, I've been considering several different trades if I'm successful in re-enlisting a few years from now. One of my passions is welding. I'm pretty darn handy with Stick and pretty good with MIG. I'm going to be taking welding night classes starting in December to improve my skills. Given that I love to weld, in what support trades would welding be a common practice?

The only problem is that I was a former officer and I don't think I possess the academic qualifications to be an EME officer, nor do I suspect that an EME officer would be out in the shop striking arcs.

Do I have any options?

Materials technician

http://www.forces.ca/en/job/materialstechnician-41#video-0

Aircraft Structures Technician

http://www.forces.ca/en/job/aircraftstructurestechnician-126#info-1

CDN Aviator said:
Materials technician

http://www.forces.ca/en/job/materialstechnician-41#video-0

Aircraft Structures Technician

http://www.forces.ca/en/job/aircraftstructurestechnician-126#info-1

Thanks for giving me the info on another trade option to decide over when that time comes  :) .

Hull Technicians weld as well (and are also the shipboard plumbers and carpenters)

Pusser said:
Hull Technicians weld as well (and are also the shipboard plumbers and carpenters)

And, in French, their occupation is the best pickup line.  "Me?  Oh, I'm a highly trained technician.  What kind?  Funny you should ask..."

I'm a certified c.w.b welder in tig and mig wondering if the Mat Tech branch would be a good home for me?

I don't think there are many Mat Techs looming these parts.  I will weigh in as I have has a number of Mat Tech work for me in the past. RCEME guys feel free to contradict / clarify.