• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Don't Give Up Hope

LeaferMadness

Inactive
Reaction score
In April 2009 I applied to be an Engineer Officer with 33rd Reserve Unit in Ottawa. After writing my CFAT and taking my medical examination I was told in November that I didn't meet the enrolment standards for the CF due to medical reasons.

I worked on the medical reasons, I finished my degree in the meantime, and in April 2011 I reapplied, this time for the regular force. I didn't have to write the CFAT and this time I passed the medical, and, in my opinion, I aced the interview. I was merit listed and after months and months of calling the recruitment center for updates on my application I was finally told that I was accepted for Engineer Officer and I would get to begin my training in January 2012.

I can't say that I wasn't frustrated in 2009 and again when I was waiting from April until November this year. Even now, I'm just itching to get started but I would like to say to people currently in the application process to be patient and don't give up hope. If the military beleives you are capable of doing the trade you are applying for, you will eventually get in. The recruitment process is long but is it ever sweet when you finally get your offer.

That's an interesting story (and congrats). The reserves turned you away but the reg force accepted you.

I was turn away from the reg force once by accident, non English speaking medic wrote the wrong word down on my medical exam- oops. Took over 2 years to correct the mistake.

Do you mind if I ask what those medical problems were out of curiosity?