• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Air Force Search and Rescue squad AVN tech

rcarloc

Inactive
Reaction score
As of right now, im a student from BCIT (british columbia institue of technology) just finishing the AME program category "M" which is the counterpart of the AVN tech in the CF.
I love being around aircrafts, and i also love helpin ppl. after all the considerations about the information i have gathered by questioning my instructors, who are used to be in the air force, i have concluded that i want to be an AVN tech in any of the search and rescue squadrons. now, i have few more questions i needed to be answered:

1.) does the search and rescue squadrons have their own maintenance crew or do they share with other squadrons?
2.) if so, what are the chances of me getting into the squadron?
3.) generally, how long can i stay with the squadron?
4.) is there anything that i can do to increase my chances of getting and staying in that squadron?

please, if you have more information about being an AVN tech in the search and rescue squadrons, feel free to add more information.

:salute: if i cant be the one rescuing people, i want to be at least the one helping to rescue ppl  :salute:

rcarloc said:
i have concluded that i want to be an AVN tech in any of the search and rescue squadrons.

While the CF will ask you what your preference is, you will go where the CF wants you to go (Quite often, "where" is not what the member is asking for). As an AVN tech, you may never set foot near a SAR squadron.

does the SAR squadrons have their own maintenance crew?
and if i, lets say, got into another squadron and i worked my way up to a higher rank, would they consider if i ask them?

thanks for the quick reply, much appreciated. =)

rcarloc said:
would they consider if i ask them?

Consider, yes.

Again, what you want is low on the priority scale for career managers.