Author Topic: Pilot vs. Infantry Officer  (Read 21629 times)

Offline PilotBob

• Rate Post
Pilot vs. Infantry Officer
« on: January 30, 2014, 20:33:20 »
So, I've got quite the complicated situation: I am currently a pilot waiting to start my training under the CEOTP AEAD entrance program. This means that I am a commissioned 2 Lt with no degree. I have completed BMOQ and that's it for my military training.

After spending some time at 408 THS on OJT, it seems to me that all pilots do their whole careers is update their qualifications and study for things. Personally, I did the CEOTP program because I'm not a huge fan of school, so the idea of doing what basically looks like school for my career no longer sounds very appealing, and with all the cutbacks, it seems like most pilots are just reaching their yearly minimums for hours. I also realized during BMOQ that I kinda enjoyed the lack of comfort in the field, and I'd never enjoyed anything more than when I got to lead a group of people on a mission. This has got me to thinking about being an infantry officer. I am aware that they also do paperwork, but is it at all the same as what pilots are doing? Is studying and constant re-certifications also part of the job?

What I'd like to know is this:

1. Is a VOT possible in my situation? Considering I don't have a degree under my belt, ROTP or CEOTP would likely be my only options (short of releasing and getting one myself). Is CEOTP an option for infantry officers? I haven't seen anything to say otherwise. If I did make the transfer, would I lose my commission and be demoted to an O.Cdt again until I got my degree?